In Nevada, an arrest for driving under the influence (DUI) can have very serious consequences. This type of charge is also what we call an enhanceable offense. This means that if you get additionally DUIs within 7 years of each other, the penalties are harsher for each one.
Under Nevada law, the penalties for being found guilty of your first DUI charge can include up to 6 months in jail, community service, fines, a 90 day suspension of your driver’s license, and DUI related classes. The law in Nevada also places harsher penalties on a DUI charge if the blood alcohol level is above a 0.18. If you arrested for a DUI in which your BAC is 0.18 or higher, your penalties can also include a court ordered assessment to see if additional treatment is necessary. In these cases, the court can impose requirements including, but not limited to, attending counseling, additional classes, house arrest, a breath interlock device on your vehicle, random drug and alcohol testing, and much more.
A second DUI offense in Nevada carries harsher penalties than a first and can result in your driver’s license being suspended for 1 year, and a third DUI within 7 years can be treated as a non-probationable felony, and you can serve up to 6 years in prison.
Even with these harsh penalties, there are defenses that can help fight your case or reduce your charges or penalties. It is important to contact an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible after an arrest for DUI so your case can be closely looked at to see if any of these defenses exist on your individual case. There are several protections you are entitled to if you are charged with a DUI, and it is important to have someone experienced review the facts and circumstances of your arrest to make sure you get the protections you deserve.
The attorneys at Gregory & Waldo have several years of experience in fighting DUI charges. They have been successful in having charges dismissed or reduced where there have been significant defenses in the case, and can negotiate cases to get the best possible outcome and penalties. If you have been arrested for a DUI, call 702-830-7925 for a free consultation to see how we can help on your case.